Mets Update for Billy Joel Fans

September 13, 2007

For a long time, I feared the day when Shea Stadium would close forever and in its place, a hulking corporate-sponsored ball field would rise from the ashen depths of Flushing Meadows. But now I’ve accepted that there is no choice. Citi Field will rain obscene luxury upon us and Shea will be pulverized and sold for scrap to Mets enthusiasts and recycled lumber wholesalers.

Something I learned today, though, has actually allowed me to look forward to the quickening of time between now and Shea’s last day on this wretched earth: Billy Joel will be the final performer to hold a concert at the stadium. And yo – it will be a doozie. The dates and number of performances have yet to be determined. Some of you might know that Billy Joel holds the record for the most number of sold-out shows in a single run at Madison Square Garden. That was 12 shows. So I’m hoping for at least 13 shows so that every Piano Man Fan can crawl through the bridges and over the tunnels to catch at least one night of this historic event.

glasshousespic.jpg

I like him even more than Reyes.

Leave a comment